e-image e-image| Home e-image| About Us e-image| Special Units e-image|   Traffic e-image| Citizen's Charter e-image| Safety Tips e-image| In Focus e-image| Contact Us e-image|
e-image e-image e-image e-image e-image e-image e-image e-image e-image

About Sangli Police  

Mission Statement
Quality Policy & Objectives
Our Oath
Sangli Police History
SP's of Sangli
From SP's Desk
From Addl. SP's Desk
Structure of Organisation
Police Ranks
Appeal to the People
Contact Us



















On 8.3.1948 Satara South District was formed comprising of 6 States (Sansthans) viz: (1) Sangli (2) Miraj Sr. (3) Miraj Jr. (4) Jath (5) Jamakhandi and (6) Kurundwadi & Wadi Jahangir with Head Quarters at Sangli which was a Major State (Sansthan) amongst all the above. The Dist. Supdt. of Police was incharge of the Dist. assisted by one Sub-Divisional Police Officer at Miraj.

On 1.8.1949, some portion of the North Satara District was transferred to the District, viz. (1) Islampur (2) Tasgaon (3) Vita (4) Kadegaon (5) Shirala (6) Ashta and (7) Kundal along with existing strength. The HQ of the Division was also changed from Karad to Islampur. Subsequently Jamkhandi and Kurundwad Sansthans were transferred to Bijapur and Kolhapur District respectively. Thus a full pledged District of 14 Police Stations was came to be formed in the year 1949 by name as South Satara District as under.

Islampur Division Miraj Division
1. Tasgaon Police Station. 1. Miraj City Police Station.
2. Islampur Police Station. 2. Sangli Police Station.
3. Ashta Police Station. 3. Budhgaon Police Station.
4. Kadegaon Police Station 4. Jath Police Station.
5. Shirala Police Station. 5. Umadi Police Station.
6. Vita Police Station. 6. Kavathe Mahankal Police Station.
7. Atpadi Police Station.  
8. Kundal Police Station.  

In the year 1959 a new Police Station. was created at Kurlap, increasing the number of Police Stations in the District from 14 to 15.

The Office of the SP Sangli and the Police Head Quarters were shifted to the new buildings in Vishrambag on 29.3.1968 and 1.7.1968 respectively.

On 22.11.1975 existing Budhgaon Police Station. was split into two Police Stations. viz. Sangli Rural and Miraj Rural Police Stations. thus raising the strength of the Police Stations. in the Dist. to 16.

On 8.11.1980 Sangli City Police Station. was split and a new Police Station. by name Market Yard Police Station. was created. This Police Station. was subsequently named and is presently functioning as Vishrambag Police Station.

On 9.1.1981 Kasegaon OP under Islampur Police Station. was upgraded into a full pledged Police Station. New Police Station. at Kokrud, Tal. Shirala was created and is functioning since 6.2.1985.

In the year 1985, a new Sub-Divn. for City was created. Thus the number of Sub-Divisions and Police Stations. in the Dist. rose to 3 and 19 respectively.

In June 1991, new Police Station. for Sangli-Miraj MIDC was created and is since then functioning at Kupwad. Two new Police Stations. were created at Chinchani-Wangi and Palus on 24.4.2002 and 2.5.2002 respectively. Total Police Stations in the Dist. are 22.

In the year 2003 under modernization of Police Dept., 3 more Sub-divisions were created at Jath, Vita and Tasgaon by surrendering 4 CPI posts.

In the year 2006 Sangli District Police Force Become the first ISO 9001-2000 Certified Police Force in all over India. Its one of the greatest ever achievement in the history of Sangli Police.




Important Links

Janmangal Din
Missing Persons
Unidentified Dead Bodies
Missing Vehicles
Wanted Criminals
Absconders List
Search Police Stations
Important Telephone Numbers
Know Your Law
Protecting Community From Bombs
Timeline For Community Services

Sangli District Police
All Rights Reserved


Powered by Vertex Infoservices Pvt. Ltd.

Terms of Use  |  Privacy Policy